Update on How to Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half

Ok folks.  So here’s the deal:  One of the reasons I started this site was to address and document the many ways/attempts and successes/failures as I try to get our house in gear.  One of the things I’ve been trying recently is shopping on a budget and I’ve expanded it to shopping just 2 times a month (inspired by How to Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half)

I planned our meals and grocery list for the whole month, then split it in two based on what was needed for each half.  I also estimated (based on past grocery trips) how much each item on the list would cost so I had an idea of what we would be spending.  I wanted to make sure that it would work within our budget and, if needed, I would switch up a couple of meals for less expensive options.

This last week I went grocery shopping with a list for the first half of the month and I hit up: the Dollar Store, Fred Meyer and Costco.  Before shopping I pulled out $300 cash – because that was ALL that I was spending on this trip – this is the bigger of the two trips this month.  I have to share – it was a SUCCESS!  I came in under budget (I was so paranoid about what would happen if I overspent… I didn’t want to have to choose on-the-spot what to not buy…) I had to skip a couple of things that would have been healthy impulse buys (like the grapefruit cups at Costco) but I’m so proud that I was able to stay within my limits and stock us up for at least 2 weeks.  Some of the purchases I made are actually things that will last MUCH longer; like the 25lbs of flour and 25lbs of sugar – I don’t anticipate using all that in one month…

So, stay tuned for the next installment and whether I am able to stay on budget for the whole month… “I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…”

One thought on “Update on How to Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half

  1. Pingback: To Freeze or Not To Freeze… | cleanhousegal

Leave a Reply

